gluten-free-200

Where is Gluten found? | Food and non-food sources of gluten

Where is GLUTEN found?

Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, it is the components of wheat that makes it doughy. It is often added to foods to help foods maintain their shape. It is found in many foods but also in some other unexpected places.

Gluten is found in grains such as:

Barley, bulgur, Brewer’s yeast, couscous, farina, graham flour, kamut, matzo, rye, semolina, spelt, triticale, wheat, wheat berries, and wheat germ

There are some grains that are free of gluten:

Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, millet, potato, quinoa, rice, sorghum, soy, tapioca, and teff

Other Foods that contain gluten:

  • Breads:
    • White, wheat, rye, 7 grain, Italian, French, bagels and rolls
  • Pastas:
    • Spaghetti, lasagna, penne, raviolis, dumplings, couscous, and gnocchi
  • Noodles
    • Ramen, soba, chow mein, egg noodles
  • Pastries
    • Croissants, muffins, donuts
  • Crackers
    • Pretzels, goldfish, graham crackers
  • Baked Goods:
    • Cakes, cookies, pie crusts, brownies
  • Cereal & Granola:
  • Breakfast Foods:
    • Pancakes, waffles, French toast, crepes, and biscuits.
  • Breading & croutons:
    • Panko breadcrumbs, stuffing, dressings
  • Sauces & Gravies
    • Traditional soy sauce
    • Cream sauces made with a roux
  • Flour tortillas
  • Beer and other Malt beverages
  • Brewer’s Yeast

Foods that MAY contain gluten:

  • Candy
  • Cheeses
    • Blue Cheese
    • Processed cheese (velveeta)
  • Condiments
    • Salad dressings
    • Marinades
    • Mayonnaise
    • Ketchup
  • Cream filling etc
    • Cheesecake filling
    • Fruit fillings
    • Puddings
  • Dairy products
    • Non dairy creamers
    • Ice cream
  • Drinks
    • Chocolate milk
    • Flavored coffees and teas
    • Instant hot drinks
    • Root beer
    • Vodka
  • Eggs
    • Eggs served at restaurants – some restaurants put pancake batter in their scrambled eggs and omelets. Eggs are naturally gluten-free
    • Egg substitutes
  • Energy bars/granola bars – some bars may contain wheat as an ingredient, and most use oats that are not gluten-free
  • French fries and fried vegetables– be careful of batter containing wheat flour or cross-contamination from fryers
  • Meats
    • Imitation crabmeat
    • Meat substitutes such as vegetarian burgers
    • Meatballs and meat loafs
    • Pre-seasoned meats
    • Processed lunch meats and hot dogs
    • Sausage
    • Self-basting poultry
  • Potato chips
    • Some potato chip seasonings
    • Multi-grain or “artisan” tortilla chips or tortillas
  • Soups, bouillons and broths
  • Starch or dextrin
  • Syrups

Gluten can also be found in nonfood items such as:

  • Cosmetics
  • Lip balm and lip sticks
  • Medications,
  • Non-self-adhesive stamps and envelopes,
  • Play-doh
  • Shampoos/conditioners
  • Toothpastes
  • Vitamins and supplements